The Problems with English

Well, we have a writing class as part of our course and we are meant to talk about the problems we have with writing. I find I’m a very capable speaker and communicator, so I know how to word things and how to effectively communicate my ideas. What I find is my major problem is communicating in writing. Writing is different than speaking. With writing I find it difficult to properly structure sentences, and I find grammar and punctuation confusing  at times. It can also be difficult to make things clear, mostly because English is such a clumsy language. There are many words that are spelled the same but mean different things. Like if I just write the word bass, am I talking about a fish or a musical instrument. Wording can be awkward and the way we place punctuation can give a sentence different meanings. Those are the areas I think I really need to work on as far as writing is concerned.

Leave a Reply

